I Know, Dad

My dad is an old-school baby boomer with an opinion on everything, and while I don’t always agree with him, there is always value in what he has to say.  He constantly offers my sister and I what we jokingly refer to as little “life lessons” (often accompanied by some relevant story for which we request the short version).  Over the years we have both received thousands of such pieces of advice, some of which have become a staple in Dad’s arsenal and which we have heard repeatedly throughout our childhoods.  These go-to phrases are usually met with a somewhat sarcastic response of “I know, Dad,” which I have appropriately used as the title for this post.
Though I will be writing about a variety of topics in my blog, I plan to use this opportunity to catalog some of the nuggets of knowledge good old Dad has passed down over the years and intend to make “I Know, Dad” a string of loosely correlated recommendations in the form of short anecdotes (much like how my sister and I originally receive them).  I hope you will be able to relate my interactions with my dad to interactions you have had with role models from your own lives.
I will leave you with a Jim Rohn quote I feel embodies the spirit of the “I Know, Dad” posts.  “Don’t wish it was easier; wish you were better.  Don’t wish for less problems; wish for more skills.  Don’t wish for less challenges; wish for more wisdom.”  Here’s to some of that wisdom.  Enjoy.
4 comments

  1. I really like the topic you have chosen… Hope you and your sister “rescue” a lot of those “I know, Dad…”

  2. […] As I am studying abroad in Barcelona this semester, I feel it’s appropriate to write my first “I know, Dad” piece on advice I have gotten from my father about traveling.  Barcelona is royalty in the kingdom […]

  3. […] have tried to relate the topics of the “I Know, Dad” series to relevant experiences I have had recently, but I’m actually writing this one […]

  4. […] weekend that saw me get far too less sleep, I thought it would be appropriate to write an “I Know, Dad” post on health.  See below.  An apple a day keeps the doctor away folks. 1) You need to […]

Leave a Reply

